Nominations for the 2019 Excellence Awards are now open and entry forms are available for completion. Download a PDF fillable form here.


Click here for a list of previous winners

Each year, at our Annual General Meeting, the Society presents its Excellence Awards to those who have made an outstanding contribution to the community. On April 18th, this year's awards were presented by Barrie Remblance, Chairman of Reydon Parish Council and introduced by Brian Harrild, Chairman of our Awards Committee. Here is a summary of what Brian said:

"When Southwold is mentioned to people, they often say 'Oh, that lovely little town in Suffolk' (and of course this includes Reydon). We know that it is not the bricks and mortar that matter. It is the people who live and work here, that really makes the place what it is. This evening we wish in a small way to honour some of those people.

First, Betty Richardson who helped hundreds of children at Southwold Primary School over a period of 20 years by going into the School as a volunteer to hear them read, and as one who has spent a lifetime as a teacher, I can vouch for the value of this assistance. Sadly, Betty has died recently so we have asked her daughter to accept the award on her behalf. Her award is for 20 years, as a volunteer, hearing children read at Southwold Primary School.



Patricia Elvin is another long-term volunteer. Her work has been on behalf of the RNLI and the Southwold Inbetweens. Currently you may well find her in the RNLI shop. If it's too icy to bike there from her home in Rissemere Lane, she'll walk. This shows her outstanding commitment and her award celebrates her many years as a dedicated fundraiser for the RNLI.



Beryl Cannell is the third this evening to be awarded for her community spirit. For 10 years she has been in the background wherever she can be useful, perhaps at the VHC luncheons and teas or at events in this hall, cheerfully washing up. No longer able to continue, her contribution will be remembered. Her award recognises 10 years of community work in many capacities.


Guy Mitchell and Sarah Green came to Southwold 12 years ago and must now be amongst the best-known people in the town. I guarantee that there is not a person in this room who has not visited the efficient and cheery post office and not a child on holiday who has not made Spots his or her first port of call. We make this award for their 12 years making Southwold Post Office & Toy Shop (SPOTS) such a community asset.


For many years customers of the Southwold branch of the Norwich and Peterborough Building Societyreceived a warm and friendly welcome. Conversation flowed, staff raised funds for local charities and on occasions tea and cakes (baked by the Staff) were offered. Southwold has lost a good friend. The award is to the staff for creating a uniquely welcoming banking service.


Our final recipient this evening is Tony Evans.Had he and Moira not moved away, he would have been addressing this gathering rather than me. Tony was the instigator of the Excellence Awards, which he organised for seven years. Were I to tell you of all the other good work he did, we would be here for a very long time, so I will simply state that his award is for founding the Excellence Awards and for service to the Southwold and Reydon Society."